International Award for Excellence

The New Directions in the Humanities knowledge community offers an annual International Award for Excellence for new research or thinking in the area of humanities. All articles submitted for publication in the Humanities Collection are entered into consideration for this award. The review committee for the award is selected from the International Advisory Board for the journal and the annual Humanities Conference. The committee will select the winning article from the ten highest-ranked articles emerging from the peer review process and according to the selection criteria outlined in the peer review guidelines. The winning author will be invited to the next annual Humanities Conference, where they will be formally acknowledged in a short presentation. The winner will receive a free registration to attend this conference. The nine runners-up will also be formally acknowledged.


Award Winners

2012 International Award for Excellence

Role of Kant’s “Schematism of the Pure Concepts of Understanding” in Hannah Arendt’s Theory of Judgment

Tama Weisman, Dominican University, River Forest, USA

2011 International Award for Excellence

VideoPoetry: Collaboration as Imaginative Method

Peter Lutze, Boise State University, Boise, Idaho, USA

James Armstrong, Boise State University, Boise, Idaho, USA

Laura Woodworth-Ney, Idaho State University, Pocatello, Idaho, USA

2010 International Award for Excellence

Cultivating Moral Sensibilities through Aesthetic Education: The Power of Everyday Cosmopolitanism

Suzanne S. Choo, English Education, Teachers College Columbia University, New York, New York, USA